Where I’ve Been

It’s been a while. I was crazy-busy in November, in December I didn’t have access to a computer for a while, then I moved cross-country. (There’s a reason most people live and die fifty miles from where they were born. Moving sucks!) I started working. The work is fun, the downsides are bearable for now. A small woman attacked me on the bus. I got a large dog. Sprained my ankle, which sucks because my job involves a lot of walking. I may have sprained my wrist a couple days ago, but it’s not weight-bearing so I’m not so worried about it.

It’s been an eventful few months, though not so eventful as last summer. Ideally the rest of the year will be boring.

I’ve been busy with piecework writing. When I’m lucky, this pays pretty well. When I’m not lucky, I get to work on my skills and add to my portfolio. So I’ve had less time for blagging.

I have a Chromebook now. I can’t Skype on it, but that’s the only issue. It’s small and light enough to fit in my bag, the battery life is incredible, and I don’t need a ton of computing power. Seriously, the battery life is better than my phone’s. I don’t know how this is possible.

I’m doing a bit of writing for myself in my spare time. Stay tuned. The goal is to have something I can show my mom. You know…no swearing. No made up words. Minimal references to Batman. My unofficial deadline for a first draft is July.

In the meantime, I’ve been really into superheroes lately! There are a ton of DC animated movies on Netflix. There should be a post about All Star Superman tonight. And I have tentative plans to screen EVERY JAMES BOND MOVIE EVER. So expect some posts about that. (I have opinions about Skyfall, guys. I enjoyed it because Bond movies are all about the id, but oh my god do I have opinions about it. But first I want to watch all of the old ones.)

I sort of petered out on my series about fixing Twilight. Can’t do it, guys. It’s like Twinkies. They’re not good for you, they’re not my thing, but I don’t particularly care if someone else partakes. Trying to make your own Twinkies with whole-grain flour and organic fair trade buttercream means you may as well not even make Twinkies, just bake your own cake. I’m not sure if this simile has gone incomprehensible.

About Susan Thomas

Omni-nerd fueled by tea and Star Trek tie-in novels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment